bookworm

I love to read.  I always have a book on my nightstand.  Or one downloaded on my Kindle.  It’s the reason I have one since I often can’t wait to make a trip to the bookstore or library, and I become part of the ‘gotta have it now‘ generation.  Awful isn’t it?   But I think this is one reason it’s justified.  For the greater good of engaging my mind…or erasing it.  It’s like therapy.  And when a book is really good, so good I can’t stop reading even though it’s suddenly 1:00 am. and I have to be up at 6:00, my entire being is transported to another world so time is relative.  I forget my everyday worries, stresses, schedules, responsibilities…and get completely absorbed in someone else’s great story.  I’m pretty sure I inherited my love of reading and night owl inclinations from my mom, and my oldest son inherited both from me.  There is nothing better, not even chocolate (well, maybe not a big spoonful of Nutella), than losing yourself in an author’s creative genius.

After my recent post about young adult books, friends who know I’m always reading something asked if I’d list other books worthy of mentioning.  Here are a few, some recent, some not, and some unforgettable favorites, in no particular order (besides the series I mentioned in the YA aka T post).  I’ll comment on the more recent ones.  A rather eclectic collection:

The Timekeeper  by Mitch Albom.   The simple theme is one we all know to be true in our hearts…how precious time is, that we need to live in and be thankful for each moment, because our time is finite on this earth.   But I got rather depressed by the fable until almost the end, with its bits of anticipated wisdom.

The Flight of Gemma Hardy  by Margot Livesey.   A modern twist on Jane Eyre, worthy of reading even if that classic was one you consider incomparable.   The journey that is Gemma’s life, of a determined orphan making her way through Scotland, the Orkney Islands, and Iceland , is a lovely, satisfying tale of love and redemption.

The Innocent  by David Baldacci.  One of my favorite espionage, conspiracy and thriller writers, and this one doesn’t disappoint.  Adds an unusual character to the life of an assassin with a conscience, a runaway teenage girl.

Help. Thanks. Wow:  The Three Essential Prayers   by Anne Lamott.   Always a little irreverent, but funny, perceptive, and self-critical, Anne Lamott distills praying down to three simple words.  Though it wasn’t my favorite of hers, the message of “letting go” and her witty prose had me nodding, shaking my head, and smiling throughout.   The lessons are meant to be read again and again.

The Forgotten Garden   by Kate Morton.   Layers of different times and places involving three generations of women, all who have intertwined secrets, a little reminiscent of The Secret Garden.  But engrossing with memorable themes, one that you can’t get out of your mind long after finishing.

Dog On It  by Spencer Quinn.  The first in a detective series where the partners are a man and his dog, all told from the dog’s point of view.   Since I’m a ‘cat person’, I haven’t read the popular dog books, but for some reason, picked this one up and was surprised that I enjoyed it as much as I did.  It’s  simple , funny and entertaining.

Below are a few all-time favorites, which I always seem to recommend to friends or give as gifts, beginning with a couple of good reads for Christmas time:

The Christmas Train by David Baldacci.

The Spy Who Came for Christmas  by David Morrell.

Wish You Well  by David Baldacci.

Have a Little Faith by Mitch Albom.

Saving CeeCee Honeycutt  by Beth Hoffman.

When God Winks at You  by Squire Rushnell.  There are no coincidences in life. Illuminating and inspirational.

Garden  Spells  by Sarah Addison Allen.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society  by Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows.

Shadow of the Wind  by Carlos Ruiz Zafon.

The Help  by Kathryn Stockett.

Prayers for Sale  by Sandra Dallas.

The Guardian  by Nicholas Sparks.

The Winner  by David Baldacci.

Dewey  (The Small-Town Library Cat who Touched the World)  by Vicki Myron.  Don’t let this title fool you.  Yes it’s about a remarkable cat, but the town, its people, and their story of resilience and survival will move you.

The Name of the Wind  by Patrick Rothfuss.

The Alchemist  by Paul Coelho.

Dragon Rider  by Cornelia Funke  (YA)

The Shell Seekers and September  by Rosamunde Pilcher.

Bird by Bird: Some Instructions on Writing and Life  by Anne Lamott.

We’d love to hear about a few of your unforgettable favorites!   Please share with a Comment.

One thought on “bookworm

  1. I love books too! Here are a couple of my favs. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee and East of Eden by John Steinbeck. I always have to read these every few years. Just the other day Isaw a license plate that said “Godwink”. I thougjt of you!!!

Comments are closed.