style and grace

I’ve simultaneously caught up on all three seasons of Downton Abbey, and have almost finished my latest book, Coming Home by Rosamunde Pilcher, both taking me back to life in Britain during WWI and WWII respectively.   In each family saga, listening to or reading delightfully sophisticated, and often witty conversations, have contrasted glaringly with most American offerings.  And  in my humble opinion, it’s not a positive comparison.  The appeal, not just for me, but to millions of viewers and readers, is that we’re transported to an era where honor, style, grace, and class, live.  I love reading that something was “perfectly ghastly” instead of “sucks”.  I’d rather hear that that someone may “put people’s noses out of joint” instead of “piss them off.”   I know I am exaggerating a bit, since I mostly hear this language from the teenagers in my own house, but I wonder what’s happened to our ability to be articulate and well-spoken?  Not to mention how casual we have all become, with everything.  From what we wear, to how we communicate, how we entertain, and even our commitments to people, work, and our communities.    In our eagerness for progress, do you think we’ve lost something of ourselves?   I especially enjoy British and Scottish authors who write of the past, for with them, there is no ugly American slang, and the English language is preserved with clear, splendid descriptions that immediately bring vivid images to mind.   The historic events and sacrifices during both World Wars, show us people who were selfless, courageous, and came together for a greater good.  It was unthinkable for anyone to shirk their duty.  People seemed to hold themselves to a higher standard, with a sense of propriety, dignity and consideration for others.  That’s grace.  But today, as a society, we seem to want novels or reality TV that denigrate, shock, and humiliate.  Why?  And Hollywood often produces films that assault our senses with pointless violence and graphic details.  What happened to intrigue, romance and finesse?

A little side note:  speaking of sacrifice, I am in the process of chronicling my parents’ journey from Czech Republic to the United States after WWII.   I’ve always known their stories about escaping Communist rule for the freedom of America, but never captured the details, so I could record their legacy for my children.  I still can’t comprehend what it would be like leaving absolutely everything behind, and starting your life over with nothing, in a new country, not once but several times.  I know this is an important memoir to preserve.

So back to my topic.  The last page of Southern Living magazine (another favorite of mine) is called Southern Journal, and is currently written by Pulitzer prize-winning writer and author, Rick Bragg.  Recently his piece was titled, Born Too Late.  He begins, “Captivated by a time before my time, I increasingly find myself most at home in the presence of the past”.   He writes about how he used to love listening to music that didn’t make you want to smash the radio; how he used to love watching TV with only three channels because there was always something good on, but now he “flips through banality till his thumb is sore”.  He states that “sometimes it seems I do not like anything anymore. I do not like outsourcing, or multitasking, or fusion restaurants.”   My mother said this article could have been written about her, since she is a creature of grace and formality and culture.  Lately I think I also do not like how our society is “progressing” and wish we kept more of the values of our parents’ and grandparents’ generation.  I’m not particularly old-fashioned, but feel a terrible sadness for this period in time that often seems callous and crass.   Please don’t get me wrong…there are so many kind and generous people in my life and in the world, so I don’t mean to proclaim doom and gloom.  But I do believe it will require greater strength and determination from today’s parents to ensure their children become adults with character and integrity.